Home » National Information Commission

National Information Commission

National Information Commission (NIC) is an independent institution established pursuant to Section 11 of the Right to Information Act, 2007. This provision clearly mandates protection, promotion and implementation of right to information to the National Information Commission. 

The Commission is empowered with the power to hear and adjudicate case under the Right to Information Act. Likewise, it has the power to issue orders to the public agencies, to recommend and suggest the government and other public bodies in different issues relating to right to information. It can also impose fine and compensation, make necessary orders and can prescribe timeframe to the public bodies to provide information. 

Three-member National Information Commission was constituted on 6 June, 2008. The tenure of the commissioners is five years. Mr. Vinaya Kumar Kasajoo was the first Chief Information Commissioner of the NIC. 

Contact Address

National Information Commission 
Paris Danda, Koteshwor, Kathmandu, Nepal 
Phone: +977-1-4602747; 4602920 
Fax: +977-1-4601212 
Email: nicnepal@wlink.com.np 
Web: www.nic.gov.np 

Krishna Hari Banskota 
(Chief Information Commissioner) 

Yasoda Timsina 
(Information Commissioner) 

Kiran Pokharel
(Information Commissioner)

For detail please visit the commission's website National Infomation Commission