Home » News

Winners of the Essay Writing Competition Awarded


13 July, 2015 -

The Award Distribution Ceremony of the National Level Essay Writing Competition on Right to Information was held in Kathmandu on 13th July, 2015. The Competition was organized by CCRI in collaboration with National Information Commission. Law Students Society coordinated the event.

The National Level Essay Writing Competition on Right to Information was open for the students who are currently pursuing their secondary and higher secondary level education in recognized educational institutions of Nepal. The topic for writing the essay was set to be “How would I use Right to Information”. CCRI has been carrying out several activities focusing the students.

Altogether, 167 essays were collected from the students representing 34 districts.

The Award Distribution Ceremony was chaired by Mr. Taranath Dahal, Chairperson of CCRI while Mr. Krishna Hari Baskota, Chief Information Commissioner of National Information Commission remained as the Chief Guest. Similarly, the panel of judges also remained as the guests of the program.

In the Beginning of the Program, Mr. Tanka Aryal, Executive Director of CCRI welcomed the participants of the program consisting of the participant students in the essay competition, parents, guardians and teachers. Mr. Aryal talked about the significance of the National Level Essay Competition on Right to Information among the students.

After welcome speech, Mr. Suraj Dhakal, Treasurer of Law Students Society presented a brief report on the overall activities conducted during the Essay Competition. Mr. Dhakal presented about the compositions of the students and schools participating in the Competition.

After the presentation of the Report, Mr. Hari Binod Adhikari, the member of the Essay Evaluation Committee spoke about his experience while working as an evaluator. He also shared the significance of RTI Use in students’ life and motivated students to use RTI in the further days.

Mr. Adhikari’s speech was subsequently followed by the distribution of award/certificates to the participants. Mr. Suraj Dhakal announced the winners of the competition and Mr. Krishna Hari Banskota and Mr. Taranath Dahal awarded the winners with Medal, Certificate and the Cash prize.

In the Competition, Ms. Sneha Bhagat, the participant representing Modern Indian School, Kathmandu secured the First Position, Mr. Shiv Prasad Sah representing Caspian Valley College, Lalitpur secured the Second Postion and Mr. Suzan Dhakal representing Nepal Poly-Technical Institute, Chitwan secured the Third Position.

Similarly, the participating students who were present in the Ceremony were also provided with the Certificates of Participation. Two visually impaired participants who participated in the Competition were also honored with the “Spirit of the Essay”.

After the conclusion of award  distribution, the top ten essays which had been published in a booklet by CCRI was distributed among the participants, guardians in the program.