Home » News

Commissioners Appointed


23 April, 2008 -

The Nepal government has appointed Mr. Binaya Kumar Kasajoo as the chief commissioner and Mr. Shree Acharya and Ms. Sabita Baral as commissioners of National Information Commission on April 22, 2008.

The formation of NIC is one of the giant leap and the cornerstone for the effective implementation of Right to Information Act 2064 in Nepal. The formation of NIC is welcomed however it took more than 8 months after the enactment of the Act.

CCRI welcomes the formation of NIC. CCRI believes that commissioners will perform with diligence, dynamism, innovation and high degree of professionalism for protecting and promoting right to information. And best wishes for successful tenure.